A House of Prayer
Devotions and Prayers
The Way of the Cross | The Mysteries of the Rosary
An Act of Contrition | Hail Holy Queen | Memorare | Year of Mercy
Prayer to our Lady for our Country | Prayer to St. Michael the Archangel
Prayer for the Eucharistic Year | Prayer before Communion | Prayer for the year of youth
Way of the Cross

(Also called Stations of the Cross, this name is used to signify either a series of pictures or tableaux representing certain scenes in the Passion of Christ, each corresponding to a particular incident.

The Stations may be of stone, wood, or metal, sculptured or carved, or they may be merely paintings or engravings. Some Stations are valuable works of art, as those, for instance, in Antwerp cathedral, which have been much copied elsewhere. They are usually ranged at intervals around the walls of a church, though sometimes they are to be found in the open air, especially on roads leading to a church or shrine.

  • The first Station Jesus is condemned to death;

  • The second station Jesus carries the cross

  • The third station Jesus falls for the first time;

  • The fourth station Jesus meets His Blessed Mother;

  • The fifth station Simon of Cyrene is made to bear the cross;

  • The sixth station Jesus's face is wiped by Veronica;

  • The seventh station Jesus falls for the 2nd time;

  • The eigth station Jesus meets the women of Jerusalem;

  • The ninth station Jesus falls for the third time;

  • The tenth station Jesus is stripped of His garments;

  • The eleventh station Jesus is nailed to he cross;

  • The twelvth station Jesus dies on the cross;

  • The thirteenth station Jesus's body is taken down from the cross;

  • The fourteenth station Jesus is laid in the tomb.

  • 4 9 8
    Click here
    ©2014 St. Mary's Church, Bambalapitiya.
    All Rights Reserved.